A Promise to William Shakespeare

So I was in Stratford-Upon-Avon the other day….

Why does that sound like the beginning of a bad joke?! In all seriousness, I really was in Stratford-Upon-Avon the other day, and it was simply amazing. I got to visit the birthplace of one of the greatest writers of all time…William Shakespeare.

I totally went all touristy (that’s how I roll), and examined every last inch of the place. At one point the tour guide inside the house informed us that some of the flooring was actually original. So we were literally walking where Shakespeare walked.

Now the funny thing is that I’m not a rabid Shakespeare fan. I have read some of his plays, and enjoyed them (the man definitely had a way with words), but It’s not like I’m walking around with a copy of 12th Night shoved in my back pocket.

But something did happen to me while I was there…

I think being inside Shakespeare’s birthplace, and learning more about his life set a fire under the “Wannabe” writer inside me.

At the end of the tour, there’s a guest book for visitors to sign. It’s something they’ve done for over 250 years (as long as they’ve been welcoming visitors). I signed my name, and then under comments I wrote this:

“I feel inspired to finally finish my book”

And so, since I’ve made a promise to Shakespeare, that is what I intend to do!

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Shakespeare, Travel, Writing Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

