If I Could Vomit My Book Out…

…I assure you, I would have already done it!

The number one thing I’ve learned since starting this journey is that writing a book is HARD WORK! Watch this great video clip by author Jackson Pearce…

“It’s supposed to be hard, if it wasn’t hard everybody would do it. The hard is what makes it great.” – A League of Their Own

The truth is that if writing a book were easy, I would have done it already. And since no one has invented the pill that lets you vomit out a novel, I guess I’ll have to do things the old-fashioned way.

The Story So Far…

I already have an idea. One that came to me one day at work about 4 or 5 years ago. In the initial rush of inspiration, I managed to write a short outline, and some background. But that was it until last year. In November of 2011 I participated in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). The goal during NaNo is to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. That’s 1,667 words a day! To be honest, I’d signed up to do Nano twice before, and just never made it past the first day. Last year, for some reason things clicked for me, and I managed to write 53,000 words in 27 days. I was totally amazed by myself.

The crappy thing is that since November 2011, I’ve only written about 3,000 additional words. Yeah that’s right….53,000 words in 27 days, followed by a paltry 3,000 words in 244 days. Which equals a mind-boggling 12 words a day.

But there’s something about my story that just keeps nagging at me to finish. And if there’s one thing that NaNo taught me, it’s that I am capable of writing at least 1-2 thousand words a day.  The voice inside me that’s saying “Finish the book” keeps getting louder and louder, and now I’m FINALLY listening.

So finish it, I will. No vomit required…

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Poppy Wisdom, Vomit, Writing, Writing Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If I Could Vomit My Book Out…

  1. Pingback: #WritingSprint | Poppy Writes A Book

Leave a Reply

