#WritingSprint

Today, I did some writing! And because of that, I’ve learned a few things…

1. Taking a Shower is a Good Thing – I’ve had lot of free time in the past few days. Which means I’ve basically been living in my PJ’s. When I decided I was going to write today, I got up, took a shower (which I assure you I do everyday!) and got dressed. It felt like I was getting ready for battle, and for some reason it really focused me, and put me in the mindset that I was going to work.

2. I ((heart)) Social Media – One of the best sources of writing inspiration I’ve found is Twitter. There are a few great writing hashtags, and two of my new favorites are #WritingSprint and #1k1h (one thousand words in one hour). When I sat down to write today, someone was doing a #1k1h writing sprint, and  I decided to join in…

I use tweetdeck, and simply did a search for the specific hashtag I was looking for.

There really is something so comforting about realizing that you’re not alone! I am not the only first time novelist out there, trying to find the motivation to finish a book. I wrote for an hour, and managed to bang out over 900 words!

3. Diving into the Pool Without Checking For Water, is Not Such A Good Idea – So like I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I’ve already written about 56,000 words of the manuscript I’m working on. But It’s been quite a while since I actually sat down to work on my book. I’ve had little moments of inspiration where maybe a plot idea will come to me, and I’ll jot it down, but that’s about it. When I sat down to write today, I found it a little difficult to just jump back into the story. I realized that I probably need to read over what I’ve written, and take a look back at the million and one little notes that I’ve been jotting down over the past 8 months!

With all that said, I’m working on a new plan of attack for my book…

Step 1: Re-Read those 56,000 glorious words

Step 2: Catalogue my notes and scribbles

Step 3: Do some light story-boarding

Step 4: Get busy writing!

Today’s Word Count = 1,433

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in #1K1H, #WritingHashtags, #WritingSprint, Poppy Wisdom, twitter, Writing, Writing Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

