Pure Imagination…

I recently read a great blog post on writing by author Jeremy Robinson called The Secret to Writing 4,000 Words a Day. I almost didn’t click on the link, because if I’m being honest, the title sounds a little like one of those unbelievable diet pill advertisements…

“Lose all the weight you want, while still eating pizza and fries!”

“Get a six-pack without leaving your couch!”

They promise results without any effort. I promise this is different! Jeremy’s secret is…daydreaming! Here’s a snippet from the post:

“Close your eyes, relax, ignore your crazy life and start thinking about your story. Start small. Some detail about a scene you plan to write the following day. Maybe a piece of dialogue. Visualize the scene. Run through it. Then, repeat. Run through the scene again. Each pass brings out more details. Here’s where the magic happens. Without you fully realizing anything has changed, the scene will be playing out without your conscious mind driving it. Characters will say things you hadn’t planned on. Plots will develop in unexpected ways. The world you’ve created will come to life.”

Daydreaming and imagination are tools that I’ve been using a lot as I work through The 90-Day Novel, and I must say that I’m loving it! I find myself thinking about my characters multiple times through-out my day. How would she react to this, or that? What would she say in this situation? Today as I was doing one of my writing exercises, I was amazed as different aspects of my MC’s personality started to appear. I couldn’t type fast enough to keep up with everything that was pouring out!

I was watching Twilight the other night (team Jacob by the way), and in the special features there’s a great interview with Stephenie Meyer. She talks about how she got the idea for the Twilight story from a dream. She dreamt of  a young girl and a vampire having a conversation in a meadow. Here’s what she says about her writing process after the dream:

“I would lay there at night, and think of  new conversations…I’ve had a lot of other authors tell me that they have voices in their heads (of their characters). They would just be talking, and I wouldn’t want to forget what they were saying so I’d have to get up and write it down. When you have three young children your day is pretty well scheduled. So I would just think about it all day, and then write most of the night.

I’m really intrigued by the idea of letting my imagination fuel my writing. And if the words keep coming, then I think I’ll make it a habit!

Happy Writing!

Today’s Word Count = 2,397

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Stephanie Meyer, The 90 Day Novel, Twilight, Willy Wonka, Word Count, Writing, Writing Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

