It Came to me in a Dream…

I’ve always wanted to be able to say that about a book idea…

And now I kind of can! I say kind of because it wasn’t really a dream.Let me explain…

Yesterday morning, I woke up at 4:57 a.m. Just in case you’re wondering, this is not my usual wake up time. I glanced toward the window to see that it was in fact still dark outside. I was in that in-between place…In between sleep and waking up, when this idea just popped into my head. I let it marinate a little and as it developed, I knew I had to get up, turn on the light, and get THE NOTEBOOK.  The notebook is where I write down all of my future book ideas. If there’s one thing I’ve learned recently, it’s that if I don’t write it down I will forget it! I have to carry the notebook with my everywhere I go, because I ideas for my current or future projects come to me at the most inconvenient times. Not that I’m complaining!

This new ideas was a little different. Mostly if I get an idea for a future project, it might be something along the lines of, “What if such and such happened?”. I write the idea in my notebook, just in case I want to explore it further later. So far my ideas haven’t required more than a few sentences to describe them. For the new idea, I stayed up for about 15 minutes, and wrote three pages of notes. I love that kind of inspiration. The kind that just pours out of you. It reminds me of how I got the idea for my current project.

Now I’m looking at the date and realizing that November is fast approaching. And for us writers that means only one thing…NaNoWriMo! So now, even though I’m in the middle of something, I’ll admit I’m tempted to write a little of my new idea during NaNo. I haven’t fully made up my mind yet. I’m not really sure that I could give my focus to more than one manuscript at a time. Why does it feel like I’m talking about cheating?!

What about my fellow writers out there…Have you ever worked on more than one idea at a time?

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Writing, Writing Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It Came to me in a Dream…

  1. Kelley says:

    Oh, that is so awesome! I’m happy for you, and also a bit jealous. I’ve always wanted to say “it came to me in a dream” too! Rock on Poppy! 🙂

  2. Megan says:

    Congrats on your new idea! It seems that I’m always working on two manuscripts at once. Last year, while editing my YA novel, I wrote a NaNo story. It was nice to write something just for fun. I say go for it. We can’t control when inspiration strikes! 🙂

  3. Poppy says:

    Me too Kelley! Now I’ll pass that inspiration off to you….here’s to great book idea dreams (sigh)

  4. Nikki Diehm says:

    Way to go, Poppy! Love the “dream” story. With the two ideas–I say go for it! A few weeks ago I gave myself a 5,000 goal day (BTW–you’re amazing for doing that ALL the time!) and while I was working, a YA contemporary popped into my head. I completed my goal, but 1,000 were toward the new idea (haha…). I think writing those kinds of ideas keeps your creative mind flowing, which is obviously a big plus for writers!

    Also…I’ve been hearing you talk about NaNo so much that I’m definitely going to try and participate this year. Love the idea!

    • Poppy says:

      Thanks Nikki! I’m seriously considering just playing with it a little to see what comes out. If you’ve never done NaNo before, you should do it! Even though I’m technically in the middle of my WIP, I think I’m going to jump in and participate!

  5. Adrianne says:

    To answer your question: Yes, always! And it’s because I always stop whatever it is I’m doing to start NaNoWriMo. I know some people use that time for editing/revising current projects, but I like to start fresh. Good luck with your idea!

    • Poppy says:

      Thanks Adrianne! I’m still deciding what I’m going to do! I’ve still got a ways on the manuscript I’m working on, so I may just work to finish that (I know that’s cheating!) I do like the idea of starting fresh….hmmmm….I guess we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

