A Writing Update…

How’s about an update on the writing…

First of all last weekend was the best writing weekend I’ve ever had. Check out my word count over those three days:

Friday – 6,530 words (This is a personal best!)

Saturday – 2,357 words

Sunday – 4,533 words

Which brings my three-day word count total to 13,420! (That’ll do pig, that’ll do)

My New Twitter Love

I credit a lot of my writing kick-start this weekend to #WriteClub. (No I did not say Fight Club!)

Basically a writer started the hashtag to host writing sprints on Friday nights. (You can check out @FriNightWrites on twitter for more info) On Friday, I’d already written about 1700 words earlier in the day before I joined the sprints. And then it was like I just caught fire, I was writing, and the words were just coming. I think the fact that the sprints are shorter, at only 30 minutes long (with a 15 min. break in-between), helps. And I’m finding that I can write 800-1000 words in 30 minutes. I’m building that word count muscle!

An Ode to First Drafts

Currently I’m getting close to the half way mark in my manuscript. And let me tell you, first drafts are a strange beast. Earnest Hemingway is quoted as saying  that “The first draft of anything is shit.” I must admit that I agree! I know that once this draft is done, I’ll have a lot of work ahead of me in revising and editing. But sometimes while I’m writing, I have to keep reminding myself to press on. I’ve worked really hard to turn off my inner editor as I write. If I think of something that needs fixing along the way, I just leave myself a note, and keep moving forward. I know that if I get caught up in the mess of trying to go back and fix this or that, I’ll never finish! Onward and upward people!

Remember you can keep track of my daily word count, by checking out my Word Count Calendar.

Also, if you haven’t already, make sure you check out the inspiration board for my WIP on  Follow Me on Pinterest

Have a great week!

 

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in #WriteClub, #WritingHashtags, Stuff I'm Excited About, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

