Once More Unto the Breach!

As you’ve probably already guessed, I’m participating in NaNoWriMo this year! Which means that at the stroke of midnight I was awake and ready to write! I managed to stay up until about 1:10am, and I wrote over 1800 words that first hour.

As most of you know, I’m technically already in the process of trying to finish the first draft of my book. So I’ve decided to do a little “NaNoCheating”. Instead of starting something new, I’m using NaNo to help me finish my first draft. I think it’s kind of poetic that I’ll finish this draft during NaNo, since I technically started my writing journey during last years NaNo.

I love the rush and excitement of NaNo, and most of all, I love the community support. The twitter sprints have already started over at @NaNoWordSprints, and you know how much I love a good writing sprint!

If you’re participating, make sure you Add Me to your buddy list!

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in #WritingSprint, NaNoWriMo, twitter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Once More Unto the Breach!

  1. Hey I managed to write my 1753 words in 3 hours. I guess that’s pretty good for a beginner. I’m starting to plan how things are going to go in my story for tomorrow. I hope to write 2000 words, since sunday I’ll be out a good portion of the day. When we add tomorrw’s word count do we just put the amount we wrote for the day or a cumulative count of the first 2 days?

    • Poppy says:

      Congrats on your word count! Each day when you add your word count to the NaNo site, you want to add the cumulative total…

      • Great! That wasn’t clear. I saw the box put in my word count and then had a brain fart trying to figure out if I should put in day 2 only or the cumulative. Ok cumulative it is. Thanks! Still feeling nervous about day 2 but have taken some time to go over the progression I’ll be writing about tomorrow. This seems to be a walk in the park for you.

      • Poppy says:

        I promise it gets easier! I definitely think doing NaNo last year, changed my writing life. As the month goes along, your confidence will start to grow! Now that doesn’t mean there won’t be days when you think everything you’re writing is crap. The key is to push through those days, and keep writing!

      • Well day one in the pocket. Day 2 I hope my writing will go smoother. I recognize that writing dialogue is not my strong point. I’ve decided to print out my work everyday to keep me motivated.

      • Poppy says:

        Dialogue! It’s one of my weak areas too! I’ve recently started eavesdropping on random conversations to get a grasp of natural flow. I’ve also been paying attention to dialogue in some of the TV shows I watch…I think written dialogue is a little different from every day conversations. The trick is learning the difference!

      • Absolutely!!! Iwrote my first 3 pages and may ask my husband to read them to get his opinion but I’m actually afraid to do it. What do you think?

      • Poppy says:

        I don’t know if I’m the right person to ask! Only because I won’t let anyone see my stuff until I’ve revised a million times!

      • I let him read the first 3 pages and he asked what happens next. I took that as I good thing. I’m going to try to write a lot more tomorrow because Sunday I’ll be out and won’t have a lot of time to write very much. I hope to write about 4,000 words in the next 2 days. I also let my Mom read the first 3 pages but I won’t let her read anymore until I’ve completely finished and edited. I agree.

  2. Hey sorry to be bombarding you with questions but how did you put the word count badge on your blog. I notice that everytime I want to put a badge it refuses to do it. I heard it’s because WP changed that option on free blogs. I would have to update to pro.

    • Poppy says:

      No Worries! Bring on the questions 🙂

      I copy and pasted the code from the NaNo website for the badge I wanted, then I went to my WP Dash and under the Appearance tab I chose widgets. There, I chose text widget and just copied and pasted my code there. I don’t have pro, so it should work for you. Let me know if you need more help!

  3. Adrianne says:

    Good luck! I was up at midnight too so I could get a jump on today’s word count.

  4. yhosby says:

    Good luck Poppy!

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

