iTunes University Course on Young Adult Fiction

Tomorrow I’m headed to the Vegas Valley Book Festival, and I’m super excited. You may remember that this year they’re offering a full day workshop on YA. The Spotlight on Young Adult Authors is a FREE day full of workshops and classes, and I can’t wait to participate.

And as a good blogger, I promise to take lots of pictures and hopefully video to share with you later!

Today, I wanted to share another FREE gem I’ve found…

La Trobe University offers a class on young adult fiction, and now you can download the lectures for FREE via iTunes U. Each  lecture is about 50 minutes in length, and is full of info about teenagers and the YA genre. Here’s a list of the lecture titles:

I’ve listened to the first few, and so far they’ve been great…

Enjoy!

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Stuff I'm Excited About, Vegas Valley Book Festival, Writing, Writing Resource, Writing Tips, Writing Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to iTunes University Course on Young Adult Fiction

  1. Nikki Diehm says:

    POPPY! This is awesome! Thank you sooooo much!

    • Poppy says:

      Hey Nikki! You’re totally welcome. I was so excited when I found it. I had to make myself start at the beginning, because of course I wanted to jump straight to the topics that seemed most relevant to me…Self-Control!

  2. I’ll have to check these out. I’ve never considered wanting to write YA fiction but who knows. I’m very much into literature and fiction. I just started reading more YA this year. some of it I really like. A lot of it I find slightly repetitious. I’m not a fan of the ongoing series. The storylines just don’t hold up as much. Who knows maybe this could be a challenge for next year’s NaNoWriMo. Thanks for the heads up! Enoy yourself at the book festival!

    • Poppy says:

      I Love YA! And I tend to be a series lover, no matter what genre I’m reading. I agree though that nowadays, some series seem drawn out. Like they should have just been one book, but the publisher wanted to make more cash. That said, there are a lot of well written YA series that I love. The book I’m working on has a sequel, and as I’ve been writing, I’ve learned just how hard it is to write a series of books!

      • I agree, but I’m skirting around trying to find interesting ones to suggest to any of the French kids that I tutor in English. they need something to motivate their English learning. For example I was really disappointed with Insurgent. Loved Divergent! Insurgent just seemed like a ploy for a second and then third book. I’ll most likely read it because I want to know how it ends. Even my 15 year old daughter thought the same as me. What are some of your favorite YA novels?

  3. This is an awesome discovery! Thanks for sharing. 🙂 YA is such an awesome, complicated, dazzling genre full of so many possibilities, because when you’re young, anything is possible. 😉

  4. Poppy says:

    I couldn’t have said it better myself Theresa! I love really do love the YA genre. Enjoy the classes!

  5. We must be on the same wavelength lately. Pianos and now this! I’ve been searching iTunesU recently for helpful free lectures. This is WAY better than anything I managed to find! 🙂

  6. Danielle says:

    I downloaded all of these! They’ll be perfect to listen to on my 5+ hour drive to the conference in Big Sur. I was wondering what I was going to do with all that time! Great suggestion!

Leave a Reply

