The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

The awesome DreamPunk Geek sent this blog hop my way (I think I’m in love with her blog title!) I thought the questions were fun, so I decided to give it a go! Enjoy…

What is the working title of your book?

Season of the Defender

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Basically, I was at work one day, when a girl’s name popped in my head. It was a cool name, and I thought to myself “That would make a great name for a main character in a book.” Then I started to wonder what would happen to this character, and inspiration struck. Before I knew it I was furiously writing down all the great ideas that came flooding into my brain! That was four years ago, and this story has been bugging me to write it ever since.

What genre does your book fall under?

Young Adult Urban Fantasy

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Sixteen year old Charlie Wilde finds out that she’s been chosen to defend her town against a great evil that’s coming to destroy it.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Love this question!

For my MC Charlie, I see an older Amanda Stenberg (Rue from the Hunger Games Movie)

For my villain Gavin, I envision Stephen Moyer (Bill from True Blood)

For Ava, Charlie’s teenage nemesis and reluctant Allie, I see Chloë Grace Moretz (Hit Girl from Kick-Ass)

And lastly, for the mysterious Evan, I see this guy minus the facial hair! (I have no idea who he is, but hello cuteness!)

That was fun!

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Once I’m done writing and re-writing and re-writing some more, I plan to try to find an agent.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m still working on it! I began writing my first draft on September 1st. The plan is to finish it this month (November).  I’m using NaNoWriMo to help me knock it out!

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I always tell people my book is like Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Stephen King’s “It”

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It’s gonna be AWESOME!

The story has lots of twists and turns, along with a few surprises along the way.

And it has one of my favorite themes. The idea that we think we’re just ordinary people living our lives, and then one day we’re asked to do something  extraordinary, and suddenly we realize that we’re more than we ever imagined!

Okay, that was way too much fun! I know there are a few writer’s that read this blog, so if you’re one of them, and you want to have as much fun as I just did, I’m tagging you!

Let me know if you decided to do it!

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings, YA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. I’m hooked! Can’t wait until it’s published. 🙂 Oh and hotness is apparently a French footballer named Yoann Gourcuff. My husband helped me with his name. I think that’s who it is. He looks a lot like him.

  2. Hey again Poppy I just put up a post on why I love NaNoWriMo since you tagged me on YT and I don’t do videos, although I am thinking about doing them one day maybe in 2013. Could be another New Year’s resolution just under read Harry Potter series. I know you’re probably thinking what rock has she been living under. I’m working on it.

  3. yhosby says:

    Goodness gracious, Evan is hot!!!

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

  4. Adrianne says:

    Love your Evan! My brother ID’d him too, he’s also a soccer fan. 🙂 I love reading about how people find inspiration for their stories. I did thiis bloghop too: https://thewritersrepublic.wordpress.com/2012/10/05/the-next-big-thing-week-15/

Leave a Reply

