First Drafts and Mountain Climbing

im-done

I’m done with my first draft!

I finished yesterday, on January 1st, and what a way to ring in the new year! Just saying the words “I’m done” still seems so surreal. I know I still have a lot of work ahead of me in revisions, but the fact that I’ve completed the first step towards having a finished book feels great.

It makes me think of how this journey started for me. I’ve been dreaming about wanting to write a book for as long as I can remember. But that was all I was doing…dreaming. Then one day at work about four years ago, the idea for “Season of the Defender” came crashing into my brain!  And once it was there, it just wouldn’t let go of me.

I remember that day at work, I was sitting at my computer screen when a name popped into my head. And my first thought was, “That would make a great name for a character in a book.” Then, I started to wonder what would happen to this character. I’d say within 30 minutes I had the basic outline for my story. And all day, as I tried to work, new details and ideas would pop into my head. Basically I didn’t get much work done that day!

After years of saying I wanted to write a book, I finally had a really good idea that I was excited about. And even though that was awesome, it definitely felt a bit like standing at the bottom of a mountain looking up.

12065640591286261129johnny_automatic_Land_recreation_symbols_7.svg.med

Getting the idea is like getting your climbing supplies. You’ve got your backpack, your boots, and everything you’ll need to get to the top. But the real work of “Climbing the Mountain” is in the writing. I’d never done much more than dream about writing a book, so the thought of actually sitting down to do it was a bit overwhelming!

In the end, it was NaNoWriMo that made the difference for me. I signed up and actually won in 2011, and that gave me the confidence to press on. That November I learned that I could in fact “Do It”. I could write a book.

And now I have…Bring on the revisions!

Poppy

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in First Draft, Stuff I'm Excited About and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Drafts and Mountain Climbing

  1. Jamie says:

    Way to go, Poppy! Happy New Year!

  2. Adrianne says:

    Woo hoo! Great job!

Leave a Reply

