Camp NaNoWriMo

Yeah…that’s right. I don’t have enough going on in my writing life!

tumblr_lk2gqaLLtA1qcenph

So in addition to working on editing this month, I’m also going to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo!

The cool think about camp NaNo is that you set your own word count goal. This month I’m not shooting for 50K, but would like to get about 15K written. I’ll be working on a new idea, that just won’t let me go.

The working title is “Special” and I’m excited to see what comes out! The other cool thing is that I’m in a “Cabin” with a bunch of other ladies that I met on YouTube…

2013-04-01_0956

 

I haven’t outlined at all, so today I’m planning on just sitting down in front of my computer and seeing where the words take me! Should be an interesting month…

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Crazy!, NaNoWriMo, Stuff I'm Excited About, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. katya1013 says:

    lol you’re a writer — u can never have enough going on in your writing life!

  2. Yeah! So glad you’re doing this. I am to surprisingly enough. I set a low goal of 25,000 words. I plan to re-write the second half of what I wrote in November and to get a solid ending done. I decided to change my cabin mates. I prefer to be with people like you who write a lot and I wound up with 3 newbies, one of which was coerced into signing up. I’m waiting to see where they will put me next. After that I’m not changing. Will you be blogging on the YT about it? Good luck with your new idea!

    • Poppy says:

      I’m setting a low word count goal too. I’m thinking 15-20K. I will be vlogging too!

      • Great! I can’t wait. Started yesterday and I decided to scrap a good part of the second part of my book and rewrite. Started yesterday and wrote 2,041 words in 2 hours. I was inspired. 🙂

  3. I’m still on the fence about this one. I’ve been wanting to do Camp for awhile now but just haven’t given it a go and now I’m doing the A-Z blog thing. I know it’s the first already, but I’m just not ready to commit yet. I’ll be cheering you on though while I make up my mind. Team Poppy!

    • Poppy says:

      Yay! All cheerleaders are welcome. They do have another session of Camp NaNo in either June or July. You should check into that.

  4. yhosby says:

    Good luck Poppy!!! I didn’t know that you could set your own word count with Camp NaNo. For May, my writing group and I will be creating a novella. About 20,000 or 30,000 words–I think it’d be cool to call it Camp NaNo 🙂

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

  5. Good luck Poppy! I’m participating in Camp Nano too. 50,000 goal, but I have doubts about reaching my goal. Always have been a big dreamer. Lol. It feels great to finally be putting it into action, though and my cabin mates are interactive. Receiving support from my FB friends too. I hope you enjoy your story and best of luck on obtaining your goal! Feel free o message me at camp my name is LaurieKozlowski.

  6. Have fun! I’ve been wanting to do CampNaNo, but I have massive exams next month, so I can’t afford to spend vital revision time writing. And then I’ll be away without internet in July. Next year, maybe!

Leave a Reply

