WIPMarathon Intro

I’m taking part in a cool writing challenge in the month of August. You can find out more info HERE.

Marathon Goal: I’m really looking to establish a good pattern of revising in my day-to-day life. I’m lucky that I have the time to write and revise as much as I want, but still LIFE manages to get in the way. At times I feel like a small rodent, distracted by anything shiny!

Stage of writing: I am currently in the middle of revising my first novel. I’m ready to get my draft into good enough shape that I can have my CP do a read through!

What inspired my current project: My book would fall into the YA Urban Fantasy genre. The idea for my story came to me one day at work a few years ago, and it’s been nagging me to write it ever since!

What might slow down my marathon goal: Anything SHINY! i.e. Korean Dramas, Cupcakes, Binge watching Merlin on Netflix, Reading, Clash of Clans on my iPhone…(you get the picture)

Here’s to a great August!

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in WIPMarathon, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to WIPMarathon Intro

  1. Danielle says:

    Good luck! I’m revising like crazy, too, and waiting greedily for your draft! Do you realize we found each other about a year ago? I think it was August. Of course, I was writing an entirely different book, then, but so it goes! Hopefully we can finish around the same time!

    • Poppy says:

      Danielle! I can’t believe it’s been a year! Soon it will FINALLY be time for us to switch drafts. Can’t wait!

  2. Cheers to a productive August, Poppy! *clinks*
    And I love Merlin 🙂

  3. Isaac Bock says:

    Good luck with this! Are you still in your revising class? And would you recommend it for others?

  4. Hi, fellow #WIPMarathon-er! This is a great way to focus on our goals and get writing 🙂 Best of luck! Here’s my Intro Post

  5. Nikki Diehm says:

    YAY for Season of the Defender! I know how long you’ve been working on this one–can’t wait for you to be done! YOU GOT THIS 🙂

  6. lauracrampton says:

    Good luck! I’m working through edits on one book as well this month, but am trying hard not to get distracted by new projects 😛

    • Poppy says:

      Yes! I’ve got a new project rolling around in my head too. I may spend a day or two giving in to it this month…
      Good Luck to you as well!

  7. Laurie says:

    Awesome! Good luck dodging all the shiny distractions this month! (I have a similar problem!) I can’t wait until I have a complete draft to revise. That must be such a cool feeling. 😀

    • Poppy says:

      It does feel awesome. I should probably keep reminding myself of that feeling. Good luck avoiding your shiny distractions!

  8. Establishing a pattern is so important! It’s great that you are using this month to do it. Good luck!

  9. Eliza West says:

    Yep. I know what you mean -too much time can sometimes be a challenge! Good luck meeting your goal!

Leave a Reply

