WIPMarathon Check-In #1

As you guys know from my last post, I’m participating in a cool challenge for the month of August. It’s really the kick in the pants I’ve needed to get re-focused on revising. So far this month I’ve been concentrating on my first 4 chapters. Here’s some more update shizzle…

WIP Issues this week: I have a HUGE plot point in my book that I still haven’t figured out yet. So far I’ve been writing around it, but now it’s getting to the point where I need to nail down some specifics…Usually brainstorming helps, so that’s the goal this week.

What I learnt this week in writing: My book is in better shape than I thought! I think having a pretty good outline when I started my 1st draft helped me a lot. There’s only one section of the draft that kind of falls apart. Other than that I’ve got a lot of good stuff to work with for revisions.

What distracted me this week while writing: My new love of Korean Dramas (Have I told you about how awesome they are?!) and freakin’ Candy Crush on my iPhone!

One of my major goals this month is to try to establish a good pattern of writing/revising in my day-to-day life. I’ll admit that I’m still struggling to do that, so the last half of the month is going to be focused on doing that!

Happy Writing!

 

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Editing, First Draft, WIPMarathon, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to WIPMarathon Check-In #1

  1. Isaac Bock says:

    Good luck with fixing that plot issue! I currently am facing the same thing, but I’m pretty close to fixing it. Like you said, brainstorming helps a lot. Anyways, happy writing!

    • Poppy says:

      Good luck to you too! I hate waiting for inspiration. But I’ve tried to logically think my way out of it, and just can’t. Brainstorming usually gets the creative juices flowing, and that always helps! Here’s hoping it works!

  2. Amy McNulty says:

    Revisions are challenging, but so fun once you finally see the book coming together!

    Yay for K-dramas! I used to watch a ton of J-dramas, but I haven’t had the time lately.

    • Poppy says:

      Seeing it all come together is the thing I LOVE about revisions! It’s so different from writing the 1st draft…

      I’m going to need to do something about my K drama addiction. I can’t stop myself! 🙂

  3. Cat York says:

    Candy Crush is a common addiction for wordy birds. LOL
    I always grab a notebook and jot down any and all solutions that come to mind when I’m stuck. Something about the hand-eye connection brings new idea. So, yes! Brainstorm away! And good luck. 🙂

    • Poppy says:

      Thanks! I may try out your notebook idea. I usually type away, but maybe writing pen to page will jostle something loose!

  4. krystal jane says:

    Good luck with the plot issue! Been there. Lol!
    The solution will usually come to me once I start actually writing the scene in question. Even if I have to end up revising and deleting a lot. Hope it goes well!

    Why did you mention Candy Crush?!! Lol!

  5. lauracrampton says:

    Good luck with your revisions! I am totally with you with trying to sort out a regular writing pattern in my everyday life. For the last few years with uni I’ve just written whenever I could, because things were hectic and unpredictable, but I’m starting a new job soon which will be steady hours, so definitely want to get into a routine!

  6. RaeChell says:

    This won’t help you much with focus, but Korean dramas? Do tell.

    Oh yeah, and good luck this week. 🙂

  7. Good luck and I hear Candy Crush can be a total time suck! Am trying to stay away from that game!

Leave a Reply

