2014 Blog Re-Boot

Image

Hola my fellow writing peeps!

It’s the beginning of a new year, which usually means New Year’s Resolution time. When it comes to writing and revising and even this blog, I’ve decided instead to focus more on goal setting. I’ve loved documenting my writing journey here, but to be completely honest, last year I was kind of a poopy blogger! I could fill the rest of this post with the reason for my blogging absence, but I’ll spare you that. Instead I’d like to focus on the future and on giving you a good idea of what you can expect from me. I recently sat down and hammered out a few writing/revising goals for 2014. Trying to write and edit my first book has been such a long journey for me. And it’s one that I’m ready to finally finish. So here’s a look at what I’ll be trying to accomplish in 2014…

Goal #1 – Finish the 1st Edit of My Book

One of the first goals I want to accomplish this year is to finish the first edit of my book. Then I’m going to finally let my CP and a few other people read it. Ahhhhhh! The thought of that both scares me and excites me. I really want to get some feedback, but I’m also scared cause this is my baby!

Goal #2 – Refine my Writing Process & Start Something New 

It’s so funny because in my normal everyday life, I’m really not an organized person, but when it comes to writing I like to have a plan. I think writing and revising my first book has allowed me to try out a lot of different techniques and I’ve learned what works well for me, and what doesn’t. I have so many new book ideas that have come to me while writing “Season of the Defender”, so I think after my first edit is done I’m going to refine my process (put it on paper) and then I’m going to start writing something new. This excites me!

Goal #3 – Finish a 2nd, 3rd and 4th revision of “Season of the Defender” and FINALLY start the querying process.

This has always been my ultimate goal. Finish my book and try to sell it so the world can meet Charlie Wilde and know her story.

Goal #4 – Share More of my Everyday Editing/Writing Life on the Blog

While I’ll still share some of my general thoughts on writing and other fun stuff, I think you’re going to see this blog turn into more of a writing journal for me. That means me sharing how the day to day writing/editing process is going for me.

So there you have it, those are my 2014 writing/revising/blogging goals. What about you guys….Got any 2014 writing goals or resolutions?

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2014 Blog Re-Boot

  1. Well Poppy they all sound like good goals. I wish you luck. I know how hard it is to write a book. I wish you a very Happy New Year with lots of good stuff for 2014. And girl when is Scandal and Sleepy Hollow getting back on the air?

    • Poppy says:

      Hey girl! New Sleepy Hollow tonight! No new Scandal for like another month…how will we survive! Gonna start Scandal Chat back up once it starts. You’ll have to join in!

      • Oh Thank God! I was going through slight withdrawal. lol! Is Sleepy Hollow coming to an end soon? I heard something about a 2 hour episode or something. Definitely up for Scandal chat!!! Let me know and I’ll join. Get back to writing girl. It sounds like your book could be a winner.

  2. viktoryarch says:

    Loved your Youtube video about your book. It deed inspired me to write my first draft of my novel. Thank you. I really hope to see your book selling, because I want to read it too.

Leave a Reply

