My New Game Plan

assessment-gameplan

I’ve been editing on and off for a while now. When I look at the amount of time I’ve spent, I should be way farther along in the process than I am. Editing and even writing a book is a HUGE undertaking. At times I sit back and I let my mind wander to all the things I need to do before I can finish.

The more I think about it, the more I get OVERWHELMED.

I tend to be a big picture kind of person, which in this case is not so bueno! Instead, I should be looking at the process in pieces or steps. Here’s what’s been happening to me a lot lately:

1. I sit down to edit. (Music…check. Cherry Coke Zero…check)

2. Before long, I run into an “issue” that reminds me of another “issue” I need to fix.

3. I then get distracted by this other “issue”, which usually turns out to be something big.

4. I stray away from my editing plan for the day and spend all of my time trying to fix the other “issue”.

5. The other “issue” some how multiplies (it’s seriously like a Gremlin…add water and they multiply!).

6. I now have 17 other “issues” distracting me from the original plan for the day.

7. I eventually give up in a state of complete and total frustration, having accomplished very little.

This has been my editing life for the past few months. On top of the normal editing pressure, I also took a class on revising (which I LOVED). But now I feel like I’ve got a ton of information swirling around in my head, and when I sit down to edit, most times I don’t even know where to begin.

So I’m putting everything down and I’m going to spend the week coming up with a new plan of attack. I’m going to come up with a game plan that I’m going to follow beginning to end.

Wish me luck!

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Editing, Poppy Wisdom, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New Game Plan

  1. Girl good luck! Writing is hard.

Leave a Reply

