My Current Writing Playlist

Music is so important for me when I’m writing. Don’t get me wrong, I can write to the sounds of silence as well, but there’s something about music that helps me put the words on the paper a little faster. I love writing to soundtracks, and every now and then I’ll get a favorite and play it into the ground! I currently have four favorites that I write to:

4. LOST: The Final Season Soundtrack – I loved this TV show and some of the music in the finale is really just breathtaking.

The_Last_Episodes

3. The Last Samurai Movie Soundtrack – The movie’s in my top ten, and I think Hans Zimmer is a genius when it comes to soundtracks. It’s both tranquil and epic at the same time (if that’s possible!)

 samu

2. The Hours Movie Soundtrack – I’ve never seen the movie, but one day I was hunting for new writing music on iTunes and I discovered Philip Glass. It was a lucky day.

The+Hours+Score+soundtrack_thehours

1. Inception Movie Soundtrack – This is the first music I bought specifically for writing, and it’s still my favorite. The last track “Time” (#12) is one of my favorite pieces of music to write to. There’s actually an extended version on YouTube that’s something like 17 minutes long. I can literally put that on a loop and listen to it for hours while I write. Another great tip is to build a Pandora station using the “Inception” soundtrack as your base. It’s a great way to find new writing music.

inception_soundtrack

I’m currently mixing it up with music from all of the above soundtracks and a few other piece. Here’s my current go to writing playlist:

2014-02-05_1902

What’s your favorite music to write to?

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Stuff I'm Loving Right Now, Writing Inspiration, Writing Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

