Who You Calling Indecisive?!

indecisive

So today while I was editing, I had an a-ha moment.

Since I’ve started editing my first draft, there are times that I feel like an indecisive bride trying to choose a cake flavor. Today I realized that I have a ton of little decisions about my project that I need to just sit down and figure out. Things like the name of the town that my MC lives in . Seems simple right? That one decision alone has given me many sleepless nights and almost driven me to drink!

The thing I’m learning, is that those little things can add up. And for me that’s happening because I’ve been reluctant to make final decisions. Why is that? I think it’s because for the longest time I was afraid of that finality. What if I make the wrong decision? What if I regret my decision? You’d think I was trying to defuse a bomb instead of just choosing a town name!

Today I finally had enough. I decided I was going to sit down, gather all my notes and make some decisions. And you know what? I did it. And nothing blew up.

More and more I’m finding that the key to me finally finishing my edit, is me coming face to face with my fears and dealing with them.

One at a time…

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Editing, Poppy Wisdom, Revising and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who You Calling Indecisive?!

  1. Sounds like you’re nipping all of that in the bud! Impressive!

  2. janehowis says:

    Hi ….I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award! http://janespentopaper.wordpress.com/

  3. Lucie says:

    I don’t know what a Liebster award is and have no idea what I’m doing even attempting to blog (just started 3 weeks ago and am learning something new every day!), but I know talent when I see/read it, and Kid, you’ve got TALENT! Your writing is totally refreshing and natural. I know quality when I read/see it and Poppy you’re it!! Good luck, Sweet Pea!!! I hope someday to read your book (which I KNOW you will write!!!) 🙂

    • Poppy says:

      Wow! Thanks so much. I seriously read this at the exact moment I needed to see it. You gave my day a boost!

      • Lucie says:

        See?! And I SAID it at the “perfect time”!!!!! I’m glad you read it when you needed to….You’re talented…..now go out there and show the world your talent, Sweetie!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

