Act or Accept

I’ve sat down to write this blog post probably 100 times. So many things have stopped me. Chief among those reasons is an overwhelming sense of embarrassment. This blog is called Poppy Writes a Book, and yet I haven’t been able to do that. At times it feels more like Poppy procrastinates a Book!

I have let life, work, TV, travel, and a host of other distractions get in the way of me actually finishing my book. It’s a shame, because I’m so close. Even when I’m distracted my book is never far from my mind. I think about it all the time. The voice memo app on my iPhone is full of new ideas that strike me every day. And yet I still haven’t finished.

In my personal life I’ve really been wrestling with this quote:

ogt_actoraccept

When I apply those words to my writing it boils down to the fact that I need to either do something about finishing my book (ACT), or I need to ACCEPT the fact that I’m never going to finish. The thought of not finishing kind of pisses me off, so I’ve decide to say a big SCREW YOU to not finishing. I’ve got way too many stories inside me to give up. And so with that, I’m making a final push to finish my edit of “Season of the Defender”.

So, what can you expect from me here on the blog? I won’t promise daily updates  (hello distraction!). But I will be posting about my progress here.

Here we go…

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Editing, Just.Freaking.Write, Revising. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Act or Accept

  1. Maryann says:

    Poppy, I am in the same boat. I plan on never giving up, each day is an opportunity to make progress toward finishing. Good luck and keep us updated.

  2. This post is very timely for me, so thank you! I’ve had many stops and starts with my writing, but the passion and need to write is always there. Working to unearth it and get back to this writing dream. We can do it!

    • Poppy says:

      Thanks so much for your comment Jamie. Doesn’t it feel good to know that we’re not alone?! I hope this week is full of writing time for you!

Leave a Reply

