Here We Go…

I’ve found that I tend to write best outside of my own home. There’s just something about sitting in a coffee shop or library that gives me a kick of motivation. None of the comforts of home are nearby, and that just makes me want to get to work (mostly so I can get home!).  My goal is to try to write at least 2 days a week outside of my apartment.

Today I decided to stay after work to write. Here’s the spot I chose:

2015-03-25 18.28.42

It was quiet and peaceful. I logged on to THIS cool writing playlist and got to work. I found the playlist on you tube, and it’s 6 continuous hours of super inspiring music. I kind of love that I can just turn it on and forget about it. I manged to edit my way through more than 3,000 words today and that puts me way over the goal I’d set for the day.

All in all I’d say it was a great start!

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Here We Go…

  1. Are you still working on the YA dystopian or are you working on a new novel? I’m taking an online creative writing course and it’s going really well. I’m starting to feel as if I can write – for real. Jury’s still out though because I can’t seem to get mywriting time everyday with my crappy work schedule. Hating my job doesn’t help. 😐

    • Poppy says:

      I’m still working on the same book. 🙂 I love that you’re taking a class that’s building your confidence. If I can do it, so can you!

      • It’s not easy and I sometimes have the impression my writing isn’t good enough. I can still hear the writing of my favorite writers in my head. I should probably stop that if I want to get anything down on paper. I just finished a book by Walter Mosley called This Year You Write Your Novel. That really broke things down for me and has just made me realize I need to be consistent in my writing and editing, like everyday at a convenient hour. I’m working on it. 😁

      • Poppy says:

        I think all writers have that voice in side their head. The one that tells them they’re no good. I know I struggle with it. I’ll have to check out that book by Walter Mosley!

      • Mosley’s book has been propping me up now for over a week! He’s right. We have to put the work in and write daily to finish a book in a year.

Leave a Reply

