The Dysfunctional Circle of Life

I’m determined to edit my book in order. It just makes sense to me to do it that way, and it helps me keep tabs on whether or not my story is flowing. The problem with my editing style comes when I hit “The Brick Wall”.

images

For a while now I’ve been stuck on one scene in particular.  It almost feels like this scene is a brick wall standing between me, and a finished novel. Now that I’m in the push to finish editing my book, I’ve noticed something very interesting. The key to knocking down that wall has been me learning to write consistently. I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, but my previous writing schedule was erratic to say the least! There was no structure, I would just write when I felt like it, or when the story inside my head became louder than my distractions. Anytime I did sit down to write, I was greeted by my “Brick Wall” scene. I would try to figure it out, but usually ended up giving up in frustration. This frustration caused me to begin to dread my writing sessions, which is why they became so erratic. It’s like one big dysfunctional circle of life!

2015-03-30 09.46.11

I’ve only been writing consistently for a week, and the good news is that within a few days my “Brick Wall” scene fell into place. It’s amazing what spending time with your book will do (I’ll spare you the inevitable dating/relationship comparisons here!).

I’m just glad to be past it, and it’s a valuable lesson I plan to remember!

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Dysfunctional Circle of Life

  1. Fantastic! I’m so inspired by your posts as I work toward getting back to writing. I remember my brick wall was an icky feeling of resistance. Then I realized I couldn’t move forward until I completely changed a scene or did some major cutting and that’s probably why I was resisting so much. Kudos to you on crashing through your wall and being consistent with your writing schedule!

    • Poppy says:

      That is so true! Sometime those scenes need to be trashed or completely re-done, and we’re just resisting that change.

  2. That’s exactly what I’ve been learning Poppy. Gotta get to it and throw your back into it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

