Focus

I’m happy to report that the editing has been going really well!

(Let us stop here for  a brief celebration)

tumblr_mgu1e92GIp1qddgsoo1_500

I owe my celebration dance to the fact that I’m finally learning to focus when I’m writing. Let me explain. I like to think I’m the queen of multi-tasking. I know that’s something that everyone puts on their resumes, but I’ve spent years cultivating this talent. The truth I’ve learned in the past few weeks is that I’m not always great at it! Some goals in my life can handle the limited attention my multitasking brings with it, and others cannot. Writing is one of the later.

My book has been jealous for my full attention, and I’m amazed at how quickly it’s blossomed since I’ve given in to it! I’ve been trying to write a book in the middle of my organized chaos, and it simply hasn’t worked for me. This week I made a concerted effort to lay everything else down, and the results have been fantastic.

I feel like I’m gaining clarity about my revision, and things are starting to come together!

 

About Poppy

Having been an avid reader since the womb, Poppy is finally sitting down to write that book she's always talked about writing.
This entry was posted in Editing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Focus

  1. Lucie says:

    Good to go, Kiddo!!!!! 🙂

  2. You go Poppy!! i totally see what you mean. More idea seem to come when more quality time is spent writing. My online writing course is getting me slowly but surely on track with writing regularly. 😀

  3. MaryAnn says:

    Your progress is good news. Keep it up!!! I’m staying positive and making progress as well. I’m doing Nanowrimos April Camp right now – continuing my revision work. Keep us posted!

  4. yhosby says:

    Congratulations! I can’t wait for it to come out 🙂

Leave a Reply

